HISTORY

history1.png

The Kuznetskiy Inn is justifiably proud of its history. First, a little information about the checkered past of the famous street where the hotel is located...…

Kuznetskiy Most is one of the oldest streets in Moscow, which appeared during the construction of the Cannon Court, and is named after the Kuznetskiy bridge over the Neglinnaya river that was in the line of the street. In the 17th-18th centuries, the homes of such noble families as the Myasoyedovs, Saltykovs, Gagarins, Shcherbatovs, Dolgorukys, Volynskys, Vorontsovs, Golitsyns and many others were located here. From the 18th century and until the revolution of 1917, Kuznetskiy Most was the main shopping street of Moscow – "a sanctuary of luxury and fashion" famous for its clothing stores, book stores, photo studios and restaurants. The historical traditions of Kuznetskiy Most come right down to us.

Kuznetskiy Most runs through the territory of such occupation layers as the 'Old Kuznetskaya Settlement', the 'Kuznetskiy Bridge" and the 'Zvonarsky settlement', which are protected as cultural heritage of federal importance. The Street abounds with historical and architectural monuments.

For over 100 years (from 1791 to 1918), the estate on the corner of the lane and Petrovka Street belonged to the noble family of the Homyakovs. Currently, the facade of the estate consists of three buildings of different times

The Kuznetskiy Inn is located in a historic building built in 1902-1903 by architects M.K.Geppener and I.A.Ivanov-Schitz in Austrian Art Nouveau style. Art Nouveau architecture scholar M.V.Naschokina believes this building is a piece of art. The building was residential, while the first floor housed the popular Basil barbershop. In his short story 'In a Far Distant Land', I. Bunin recalled: "How many people had their hair cut, shaved at Basil & Theodore's." In 1987, the old 'Basil' was replaced by a newly opened Soviet-Bulgarian hairdressing salon 'Magia'.

The three-storey building with arched windows in the two lower floors was built on the Homyakovs' order in 1870 by the architect. The building is classified as a valuable core urban asset.

history2.png

The corner building was constructed in 1900 on the design of I.A. Ivanov-Schitz. In 1931, two floors were added to the building. By its territorial position, the house visually closes the central part of the street. The facade of the building is richly decorated, its appearance is distinguished by large windows and dominating divisions highlighted by the use of different materials. In general, the style of the building is defined by art historians as a 'Noble Style Nouveau' of the Greek type a la Otto Wagner. The ground floor was occupied the G.Volkov & Sons bank, the second and third floors housed the furniture department of the Muir & Mirrielees store, part of the premises were rented as apartments. On the Petrovka side, the house adjoins another building owned Homyakov – a manor house designed by O. Bove, where publicist A.S.Khomyakov lived and entertained many famous cultural figures.

In Soviet times, the building housed various institutions and organizations. At various times, the house was the residence of opera singer N.A.Shepelev, actors L.M.Leonidov and M.P.Bolduman, writer V.A.Obruchev. Scenes from E.Ryazanov's comedy 'Office Romance' were filmed in this house.

The building of the Kuznetskiy Inn has undoubtedly absorbed the energy of past events. Accommodation in 'buildings with history' is a superb choice if you want to feel the 'foot of centuries' or dip in the bliss of antiquity.

Позвоните мне
X

Введите ваш номер телефона:

Историческая справка

history1.png

Отель «Кузнецкий Инн» по праву гордится своей историей. Сначала немного о богатом прошлом знаменитой улицы, на которой расположен отель…

Кузнецкий Мост — одна из старейших улиц Москвы, появление которой связано со строительством в этом районе Пушечного двора , а название сохраняет имя стоявшего по линии улицы Кузнецкого моста через реку Неглинную . В XVII — XVIII веках на улице жили представители знатных фамилий Мясоедовых , Салтыковых , Гагариных , Щербатовых , Долгоруковых , Волынских , Воронцовых , Голицыных и многих других. Начиная с XVIII века и вплоть до революции 1917 года Кузнецкий Мост являлся главной торговой улицей Москвы — «святилищем роскоши и моды», славился магазинами одежды, книжными лавками, фотоателье и ресторанами. Исторические традиции Кузнецкого Моста сохраняются и в настоящее время.

Кузнецкий Мост проходит по территории культурных слоёв «Старая Кузнецкая слобода», «Кузнецкий мост» и «Звонарская слобода», которые охраняются в качестве объектов культурного наследия федерального значения. Улица изобилует памятниками истории и архитектуры.

На протяжении более 100 лет (с 1791 по 1918 годы) владение на углу переулка с Петровкой принадлежало дворянам Хомяковым. В настоящее время по фасаду владение состоит из трёх разновременных построек.

Отель «Кузнецкий Инн» расположился в историческом здании, построенном в 1902-1903 годах по проекту архитекторов М. К. Геппенера и И. А. Иванова-Шица, в стиле австрийского модерна. Исследователь архитектуры модерна М. В. Нащокина сравнивает здание с произведением искусства. Дом являлся жилым, а на первом этаже размещалась популярная парикмахерская «Базиль". И. Бунин в рассказе «Далёкое» вспоминал: «Сколько народу стриглось, брилось у Базиля и Теодора». В 1987 году на месте старого «Базиля» открылся советско-болгарский парикмахерский салон «Магия».

Трёхэтажный корпус с арочными окнами двух нижних этажей построен по заказу Хомяковых в 1870 году по проекту архитектора. Здание отнесено к категории ценных градоформирующих объектов.

history2.png

Угловое здание построено в 1900 году по проекту И. А. Иванова-Шица. В 1931 году дом был надстроен двумя этажами. По своему градостроительному положению дом визуально замыкает центральную часть улицы. Фасад здания богато декорирован, в его внешнем облике выделяются большие окна и доминирующие членения, подчёркнутые использованием различных материалов. В целом стилистика здания определяется искусствоведами как «благородный „Style nouveau“ греческого типа a la Отто Вагнер ». Первый этаж здания занимал банк Г. Волкова с сыновьями, на втором и третьем этажах находился мебельный отдел магазина «Мюр и Мерилиз», часть помещений сдавались под квартиры. К дому со стороны Петровки примыкает ещё одно принадлежавшее Хомяковым здание — построенный по проекту О. Бове главный дом усадьбы, где жил публицист А. С. Хомяков, которого посещали здесь многие известные деятели культуры.

В советское время в здании размещались различные учреждения и организации. В разное время в доме жили: оперный певец Н. А. Шевелёв, артисты Л. М. Леонидов и М. П. Болдуман, писатель В. А. Обручев . В этом доме снимались сцены комедии Э. Рязанова «Служебный роман».

Здание, в котором расположен отель "Кузнецкий Инн", несомненно, впитало в себя энергетику событий прошлых лет. Проживание в "зданиях с историей" ‒ великолепный вариант, если Вы хотите почувствовать «поступь веков» или окунуться в негу старины.

Позвоните мне
X

Введите ваш номер телефона: